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1. All persons and dealers who are subject to the
tax levied under Chapter 2 of Title 47 of 1950, as
amended, are required to file a tax return monthly,
unless otherwise provided. Returns are due on or
before the 20th day of each month for the preceding
calendar month or quarter. If the due date falls on a
weekend or holiday, the return is due the next busi-
ness day and becomes delinquent the next day
thereafter.

2. Corrections or changes to the name and
address information shown on the form should be
made by placing an “x” in the address change box on
the front of the form and writing the correct infor-

mation in the space provided. If this is an amended
return, place an “x” in the box labeled “Amended
Return” on the back of the form. If this is a final
return, place an “x” in the box labeled “Final Return”
on the back of the form and enter the date the busi-
ness was sold or closed in the space provided.

3. All amounts on the return should be rounded
to the nearest dollar and handprinted in the appropri-
ate boxes.

4. Care should be exercised to ensure that: (a) the
correct period is entered or shown in the appropriate
area near the upper left-hand corner of the return; (b)

Sales Tax Return - General Instructions

the handprinted numerals in the boxes are clear and
legible; (c) the return is signed and dated by the
appropriate company official; (d) a payment for the
exact amount of tax, penalty, and interest accompa-
nies the return and that this payment amount is
properly entered on Line 16 of the form; (e) if pay-
ment is made clectronically, mark the box on Line
16; and (f) the return and payment are placed in the
attached pre-addressed envelope, stamped, and
mailed.

Sales Tax Return - Specific Instructions

Line 1 - “Gross sales” is the total sale price for
cach individual item or article of tangible personal
property with no reduction for any purpose.

Line 2 — A use tax is due on the purchaser’s
acquisition price of the tangible personal property
used, consumed, distributed, stored for use or con-
sumption in Louisiana, or purchased or imported
into the State for resale in coin-operated vending
machines. The total cost or value of such property
on which the tax has not been paid to vendors must
be entered on this line.

Line 3 —The gross receipts billed for the lease or
rental of tangible personal property, as well as the
gross receipts from taxable services defined in the
statutes, should be included. Taxable telecommuni-
cation services, such as charges for intrastate and
interstate telephone calls, cellular telephone calls,
and pager services should be included on this line.
Refer to the Sales Tax Law and Regulations for
details showing services that are taxable and leases or
rentals that are taxable.

Line 4 — Self-explanatory.

5 — From Line 34- Schedule A, no deduc-
tion can be claimed unless the transaction has been
included on either Line 1, 2, or 3.

Line

Line 6 — Self-explanatory.

Line 7 — Self-explanatory.

Line 8 — In cases where the total amount of
Louisiana sales or use taxes collected by use of tax-
bracket tables exceeds the amount shown on Line 7,
any such excess must be remitted to the Secretary of

Revenue.

Line 9 — Self-explanatory.

Line 10 — To receive the dealer’s 1.1 percent
compensation for remittance of the tax levied,
deduct the 1.1 percent from the total tax accounted
for and payable to the Secretary of Revenue before
taking credit for taxes already paid to a wholesaler.
Such compensation is allowable only when the pay-

ment is made in a timely manner.

Line 11 — Self-explanatory.

Line 12 — All dealers who have paid advance
sales tax to a manufacturer, wholesaler, jobber, or
supplier shall deduct from the total tax collected by
them upon retail sales made during the reporting
period the amount of advance sales tax paid, provid-
ed tax-paid invoices evidencing the payments are
retained by the dealer claiming the refund or credit.
Purchases should be shown in their entirety, even
though some portion of the purchases did not bear
the advance sales tax. Claim only the amount of
Louisiana tax paid. Credit for local taxes cannot be
claimed here nor can credit be claimed for property
purchased for resale in coin-operated vending
machines. Credits for Louisiana advance sales taxes
on purchases at 4% and other applicable rates may
be combined on Line 12.

Line 12A — A credit of up to $25 per cash regis-
ter that has been reprogrammed because of a state
tax rate change may be taken on this line. An invoice
showing the reprogramming charges must be
attached to the return and the credit taken cannot
exceed the lower of the reprogramming charge or
$25 per cash register. This credit may be claimed

only one time after each state tax rate change.

Line 13 — Self-explanatory.

Line 14 — A monthly return becomes delinquent
on the 21st day of the month following the month in
which tax becomes due, and a quarterly return
becomes delinquent on the 21st day of the month
following the calendar quarter in which the tax
becomes due. If the return is filed late, a delinquent
penalty of 5 percent for each 30 days or fraction
thereof of delinquency, not to exceed 25 percent of
the net tax due on Line 13, must be entered on Line

14.

NOTE - In addition to the delinquent penalties
reported above, a taxpayer may also incur a negli-
gence penalty if circumstances indicate willful negli-
gence or intentional disregard of rules and regula-
tions. Also, an examination fee may be imposed in
the event the Department is required to issue a billing
notice necessitated by the filing or lack of filing of this
return.

Line 15 — Interest of 1.25 percent per month of
the net tax due on Line 13 must be shown for the
delinquent period, beginning with the dates
explained on Line 14, until the tax is remitted to the
Secretary of Revenue.

Line 16 — Self-explanatory.

NOTE - Do not claim credit on Lines 16 for any
previous overpayment. A refund will be issued.

Line 17 — If the credits shown on Lines 12 and
12A are greater than the amount of tax due shown on
Line 11, creating a credit balance on Line 13, enter
the total overpayment in the space provided.

NOTE - Specific Instructions for Lines 18
through 21: Enter the net sales amounts for this
reporting period in the blank spaces provided in the
total sales column. Do not include sales to exempt
customers. Multiply these sales amounts by the per-
cent factor appearing in the middle column and
enter the resulting products in the Sales Deduction
boxes appearing in the right-hand column.

Line 18 — Report intrastate telecommunication
services, such as local telephone calls, cellular tele-
phone charges, and pager service charges on this line.

Line 19 — Report interstate telecommunication
services on this line. These include any taxable
telecommunication services that originate in
Louisiana and terminate outside Louisiana, or that
originate outside Louisiana and terminate in
Louisiana, and that are charged to a Louisiana address
regardless of where the amount is billed or paid. Do
not include interstate telecommunication services
sold to exempt call centers that hold an exemption
certificate R-1011.

Line 20 — Enter sales of electricity, natural gas,
bulk water, and steam used for any purpose other
than for residential use.

Line 21 — Enter the sale or importation of cus-
tomized computer software occurring July 1, 2003
through June 30, 2004. Do not include sales of
canned or prewritten software. See Revenue Ruling
No. 02-008 on our website for additional informa-
tion.

Line 22 — Enter sales of ships and vessels with a
load displacement of 50 tons and greater; and sales
of fuel, supplies and repairs to operators of vessels
engaged in interstate commerce.

Line 23 — Enter sales of repair services to tangi-
ble personal property that was returned to a cus-
tomer in another state by common carrier or by
your leased or owned vehicle. For qualifying repairs
to property returned to the offshore area, see
Revenue Information Bulletin 02-018 and include
on Line 33, if applicable.

Line 24 —The first $50,000 of the sales price of
rubber-tired farm tractors and implements and
equipment attached thereto are specifically exempt-

ed by R.S. 47:305.25.

Line 25 — Enter sales of tangible personal prop-
erty sold to lease/rental dealers for lease or rental in
arm’s length transactions. Lease/rental dealers must
claim exemption using certificate LGST 61, and
must be registered to collect and remit sales taxes on
all rental receipts. Sales to dealers who furnish an
operator with the leased/rented property are not eli-
gible for this exemption.

Line 26 — Enter sales to the U.S. Government,
State of Louisiana, or any parish and municipal gov-
ernment, or to any agency, board, commission or
instrumentality of federal, state, or local govern-

ment.

Line 27 — Enter sales of prescription drugs, pre-
scription and nonprescription insulin, orthotic and
prosthetic devices; wheelchairs and patient aids for
home use prescribed by a physician, and medical
devices prescribed by a physician for treatment of
diseases.

Line 28 — Enter sales of food items for further
preparation and consumption in the home.

Line 29 — Enter sales of electricity, bulk water,
and natural gas for residential use. Do not include
sales to business, industrial, commercial or govern-
mental customers. See Revenue Information
Bulletin 02-020 for more information.

Line 30 — Enter sales of tangible personal prop-
erty delivered or shipped to customers outside the
territorial boundaries of Louisiana by common car-
rier or your owned or leased vehicle.

Line 31 — The gross sales of tangible personal
property to registered wholesalers are exempt from
the payment of the advance sales tax, provided the
purchaser furnishes exemption certificate Form R-
1028 (LGST-9), bearing a sales tax number indicat-
ing that the purchaser is a wholesaler and is entitled
to purchase tax-free for resale purposes.

Line 32 — Enter cash discounts, sales returns and
allowances that have not already been deducted
from gross sales as reported on Lines 1 or 3.

Line 33 — Any other deduction authorized by
law should be properly identified, such as sales in
coin-operated vending machines, sales to direct-
payment permit holders, sales of electric power used
in a chlor-alkali process, gasoline and special fuels on
which the road use tax is paid, sales for first use off-
shore, and sales of supplies to commercial fishermen.

Line 34 - Add Lines 18 through 33 (Sales
Deduction Column). Enter the sum here and on
Line 5. No item can be included as a deduction
unless the item has been included on either Line 1,
2, or 3.
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Worksheet/Taxpayer copy

rRevenue account number Location address Month/Quarter ending

1 Gross sales of tangible personal property 1 00

2 Cost of tangible personal property (1o o meg o e e voning macmnegy oo € 2 00

3 Leases, rentals, and services 3 00

4 Total (Add Lines 1 through 3.) 4 00

5 Total allowable deductions (From Line 34, Schedule A. Do not include as a deduction any item not reported on Lines 1 through 3.) 5 00

6 Amount taxable (Subtract Line 5 from Line 4.) 6 00

7 Tax due (Multiply amount on Line 6 by 4%.) 7 00

8 Excess tax collected 8 00

9 Total (Add Line 7 and Line 8.) 9 00
10 Vendor’s compensation (1.1% of Line 9, if payment not delinquent) 10 00
11 Gross tax due (Subtract Line 10 from Line 9.) 1 00
12 Sales tax credit Purchases .00 12 00
12A Register reprogramming credit (Actual programming costs, not to exceed $25 per register - invoices must be attached) 12A 00
13  Net tax due (Add Lines 12 and 12A and subtract from Line 11. If total of Lines 12 and 12A exceeds Line 11, enter amount here and on Line 17.) 13 00
14  Penalty (See instructions.) 14 00
15 Interest (1.25% per month from due date until paid) 15 00
16 Total tax, penalty, and interest (Total of Lines 13, 14, and 15) Louisians e P Revenue DO N0t send cash.  PAY THIS AMOUNT. p 16 ‘ 00
17  Overpayment to be refunded (Do not claim a credit for this overpayment on any other return.) 17 ‘ ‘ 00

Allowable deductions — Schedule A
Total Sales % Exemption Deductions

18 Intrastate telecommunication services and prepaid phone cards 25% 18 00
19 Interstate telecommunication services 50% 19 00
20 Electricity, natural gas, steam, water used for other than residential purposes 5% 20 00
21 Sales of customized computer software 50% 21 00
22  Sales of certain ships and ship supplies 100% 22 00
23  Repairs to property delivered to another state 100% 23 00
24  Sales of certain farm equipment 100% 24 00
25 Tangible personal property sold for lease or rental (see instructions) 100% 25 00
26 Sales to U.S. government and Louisiana state, and local government agencies 100% 26 00
27  Prescription drugs and medical properties 100% 27 00
28 Sales of food for home consumption 100% 28 00
29 Electricity, natural gas, bulk water for home consumption 100% 29 00
30 Sales in interstate commerce 100% 30 00
31 Sales to registered wholesalers 100% 31 00
32 Cash discounts, sales returns and allowances 100% 32 00
33 Other totally tax-exempt sales (Explain) (Do not include bad debt write-offs from prior period sales.) 100% 33 00
34 Add Lines 18 through 33; enter here and on Line 5. 34 00

Louisiana Department of Revenue
Taxpayer Services Division
Sales Tax Section
P.O. Box 3138
Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70821-3138
(225) 219-7356

For Taxpayer Assistance, call, visit, or write the Baton Rouge Headquarters or the Regional Office in your area.
Or, visit our website at www.revenue.louisiana.gov for tax, registration, and filing information.

Alexandria Lafayette Monroe Shreveport
Commercial Building Brandywine lll, Suite 150 Room 105 1525 Fairfield Avenue
Suite 100 825 Kaliste Saloom Road 122 St. John Street P.O. Box 31706
201 Johnston Street P.O. Box 81857 P.O. Box 1783 Shreveport, LA 71130-1706
P.O. Box 1191 Lafayette, LA 70598-1857 Monroe, LA 71210-1783 318-676-7505
Alexandria, LA 71309-1191 337-262-5455 318-362-3151
318-487-5333 Thibodaux
Lake Charles New Orleans 1418 Tiger Drive
Baton Rouge Suite 1550 Suite 900 P.O. Box 1429
Suite 200 One Lakeshore Drive 1555 Poydras Street Thibodaux, LA 70302-1429
8549 United Plaza P.O. Box 3702 New Orleans, LA 70112-3707 985-447-0976
P.O. Box 80519 Lake Charles, LA 70602-3702  504-568-5233

Baton Rouge, LA 70898-0519  337-491-2504
225-922-2300
225-219-2114 (TDD)

ELECTRONIC FILING IS AVAILABLE - Visit our website for information on how to register for FREE electronic filing , or through third-party service
providers who charge a fee. You may also file your sales tax return electronically at a kiosk located at one of our Regional Offices listed above.
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